Cauliflower with bell peppers – Cavolfiore e peperoni

20140601_124930

Hello everyone! This is a recipe that I have learned from my mother even if she doesn’t add bell peppers. I hope you like it! / Ciao a tutti! Questa è una ricetta che ho imparato da mia mamma anche se lei non aggiunge i peperoni. Spero che vi piaccia!

Ingredients / Ingredienti:

1 cauliflower

1 or 2 bell peppers ( I prefer red or yellow) / 1 o 2 peperoni ( io preferisco quelli rossi o gialli)

2 garlic cloves / 2 spicchi d’aglio

2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil / 2 cucchiai di olio evo

1 glass of water / 1 bicchiere d’acqua

1 sprig of parsley / 1 ciuffo di prezzemolo

white vinegar to taste ( about 40 ml) / aceto bianco q.b. ( circa 40 ml)

2 small red hot chilli peppers / 2 peperoncini piccoli

some black olives / qualche oliva nera

salt to taste / sale q.b.

Method / Procedimento:

  1. Heat the olive oil in a saucepan and add the chilli peppers and the garlic. Let it cook until golden brown. / Scaldare l’olio in una padella e aggiungere l’aglio e i peperoncini, facendo cuocere fino a che l’aglio non sarà dorato
  2. Cut the cauliflower and slice the peppers, then add them into the saucepan with the olives. Let it cook 4 minutes, stirring sometimes. / Tagliare il cavolfiore e affettare i peperoni, dopo di che aggiungerli nella pentola insieme alle olive. Lasciar cuocere 4 minuti mescolando di tanto in tanto.
  3. Pour the vinegar and let cook 3 minutes / Versare l’aceto e lasciar cuocere 3 minuti.
  4. Pour the water, flavour with salt and cover with the lid. / Versare l’acqua, insaporire con sale e mettere il coperchio
  5. Let it cook on low- medium heat until the vegetables are soft, stirring sometimes / Lasciar cuocere a fiamma medio-bassa fino a che le verdure non saranno morbide, mescolando di tanto in tanto.
  6. Sprinkle with chopped parsley before serving / Guarnire con prezzemolo tritato prima di servire
  7. Enjoy! / Buon appetito!
8 thoughts on “Cauliflower with bell peppers – Cavolfiore e peperoni

    • As you probably know I am Italian but I come from Sardinia. In Sardinia people speak another language in addition to Italian. Ajo means come on! And let’s vegan is like go vegan. I want to keep my origin. 😀

      Like

      • aha finally the mystery is solved, I did know you were italian I didnt know you are sardinian, beautiful island, one of my favourites. When I was backpacking years ago on a train in Sardinia I met a little old man, who told me he is a famous Sardinian author, and he had a book in Sard dialect that he had written with him and gave me a copy and signed it. I have it somewhere, looked vaguely more latin than italian if I remember correctly but it is a long time ago, must go see if I can dig it out. THANKS for putting me out of my misery and explaining!

        Like

      • your island is wonderful, the sea around it is beautiful the cliffs the wine the peoples warmth – about 5 years ago I needed a break I flew over by myself – arrived in the end of July without having hotel or car bookings and by sheer dumb luck managed to rent a very expensive car and to drive around the island while listening to loud music visiting churches and agriturismos and stopping wherever my heart told me to, it was amazing!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

